06. January 2016 · Comments Off on Guy Maddin, Evan Johnson win $100,000 Best Canadian Film award · Categories: Feature Films, News · Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
We have re-branded the festival. Please join us at the Ottawa Canadian🍁 Film Festival.

Congratulations to Winnipeg filmmaker Guy Maddin and his co-director Evan Johnson on winning the 2015 Rogers $100,000 Best Canadian Film Award, presented at the Toronto Film Critics Association awards gala last night for their film The Forbidden Room.  Here’s the trailer for the film.

The runners up were Philippe Falardeau’s My Internship In Canada and Andrew Cividino’s Sleeping Giant, each awarded $5,000 by the Toronto Film Critics Association.  Deepa Mehta was the recipient of the Technicolor Clyde Gilmour Award, $50,000 in film services bestowed on a filmmaker of her choice.  Mehta chose documentary director Nisha Pahuja.  Check out the TFCA website at torontofilmcritics.com for more information. More »